Day 2: Working with CWH Mascot

She has made improvements today and I hope she will continue to make improvements.!!!

Day 2: CWH Mascot

I have still not had success when it comes to making contact with this little girl yet, but she has been making improvements.!! Which is all I can ask for as a trainer.!!

When I first arrived at the barn and went to the paddock, Red and Gladis were right there waiting for me…. Like ALWAYS.!!! They always have to get there to get their cuddles, kisses, and loves.!! Of course they do fight over who gets my attention first.!! They did also watch have to watch me work with the new pony.

15644809_1751766781809849_539565384_n

After they get their lovin’s, I headed down to the round pen to see little girl… Of course, she took off away from me, running. Scared, terrified, and unsure.! I then stood in the middle of the round pen and let her settle herself down, before I proceed with anything. Once she settled down and relaxed I began our session.

Today we did the same stuff as yesterday… Just asking her to walk, jog, lope a little bit, and halt. She has proven that she can pick up and respond to voice commands. While asking her to proceed walk and/or jogging around the round pen, I would ask for her to whoa and halt (Slow down and Stop) and she has shown that she understands what she is being asked to do. When I ask for her to change direction, I just open my arm closest to her and point my hand 4-6 feet behind her bum, using my other arm to guide her forward, using the voice command “change direction.” When we started out she was ALWAYS turning towards the outside of the ring and then proceeding forward, or she would halt facing the outside of the ring. BUT by the end of our 40 minute session today, she was turning in towards me to change her direction and felt comfortable enough to halt facing me. This is a HUGE improvement from what she was like yesterday when she first arrived.

15577555_1751766761809851_142134413_n

Today I was able to get about 3 feet away from her before she WALKED away from me.!!!! YES, I did say walk.!! When we first started, I could not get anywhere near here, she was take off running as soon as I stepped a single foot in her direction. After asking her to go around the round pen, change direction, halt and proceed, she allowed me to creep, SLOWLY, step by step, inching closer, I was able to get about 3 feet from her before she walked away from me. That is when I back up, slowly releasing the pressure off of her. She was licking and chewing, even more than yesterday and she was showing more signs of relaxation.

15591829_1751766758476518_1115173195_n

My future hopes are to be able to make contact with her and take off the current halter that is on her as it is WAY to small. I hope that even if it is a fight to get it off, the relieved pain and pressure of her face may give her the sense of safety and relief in me. Then I hope to start to build a small relationship from there, reapplying a proper fitting halter on her and begin to teach her own to respond to a halter and lead rope, as well as how to be lead and all basic halter/in hand commands. Form here we will expand and see where we are and reevaluate. This will be posted on the bottom of each blog until the next evaluation I do on her.

Her next evaluation will be Saturday, December 24th, 2016. We will then continue to weekly evaluations until I feel we are ready to begin extending her evaluation periods.!!

~~ Ashley
Dec. 17th 2016

Leave a Reply

